a question for “christians”

(Disclaimer: I think all politicians are self-serving, pieces of shit)

angry_trump_0Of all the incredible events from the election and our revelations from our now President Trump, one thing has truly baffled me:

How in the hell can Christians, from evangelicals to the mild believer, have voted for Trump?  How in the context of the Bible was that even possible?

I feel like Trump embodies several characteristics that most churches throughout our country view as abhorrent and very non-Christ like.  There are numerous biblical verses that provide examples of this, below are a few of my favorites:

“For where jealousy and selfish ambition exist, there is disorder and every evil thing.” James 3:16

“He who separates himself seeks his own desire, he quarrels against all sound wisdom.” Proverbs 18:1

“Do nothing from selfishness or empty conceit, but with humility of mind regard one another as more important than yourselves.” Philippians 2:3

Again, I ask all Christians….. How could you have voted for Trump?  How?  How?  I honestly want to know.  I want to hear how you justify it.

As I’m left to form my own opinions about this, I have to speculate.   It appears to me that your hatred of the other candidates, which is highly un-biblical, led you to “settle” for Trump.

Or was is because Trump picked an evangelical VP in Mike Pence???  Do you really think Pence will be able to calm Trump down?  Seriously???

I am honestly asking for Christians to comment on this post and help me understand this.  Please comment.  I promise I will only engage in intelligent discourse.  I’m not writing this post to fight, I truly want to understand.

Cheers

 

 

5 thoughts on “a question for “christians”

  1. I’m a Christian and I voted for Hilary. But my in-laws voted for Trump. I asked them why and honestly the more I dug, the more I realized they were scared. They had lost faith in the political system and saw their retirement in jeopardy because of policy, taxes, minimum wage and so forth (not all rational, but their true feelings) and so they voted for the candidate that seemed different. The one who wasn’t more of the same. Now, when pressed, they could not articulate why Hilary was “worse” than Trump, just that she was. I think many people voted out of fear, not out of rational thought. The system, as it is, does not foster compromise and working together, it fosters divisiveness. There’s a cool movement happening to elect a bunch of new congresspeople. Check it out: https://brandnewcongress.org/ Hope that helps a little! Ask people face to face and try not to engage in convincing them, I’ve found it so helpful, because then I understand the why better and the why helps me become more compassionate towards those I might have just thought were batshit crazy!

    • Thanks for your comments, I truly appreciate it. Fear and religion seem to go hand in hand. I think Pence sealed the deal for many Christians who were hesitant to vote Trump. Even though Trump cares nothing about religion. I think too many people let fake news stories and Trump’s marketing genius trick them. I will check the site out.

  2. That’s the deal; notice you specified “christians” rather than Christians. “christians” really aren’t Christians, they only have the vaguest notion of Christ and what it would take to be a Christian. Most of the “christians” only know of Christianity what their clergy have told them and they understand it even less. I write this as an agnostic that was raised and educated within a liberal Protestant Christian church.

    • Honestly, what are Christians really? It’s all geographical. If every American born Christian were born in a different land like India, China, etc, they wouldn’t be Christian at all. That’s what makes it even more ironic. All religions are just stories made up by people in the attempt to control the populations; to give them a reason to feel as if their life is actually worth something. We are all just animals; eating, shitting, breeding, etc. That will never change.

      • IMHO Christians are those that know, follow and live the teachings of Jesus the Christ. No one is born Christian; you have to understand and make a informed decision to be a Christian. I cannot say for sure that “all religions are just stories…;” this is why I categorize myself as an Agnostic, albeit a “Christian Agnostic.”

Leave a Reply

