Your Reality

(I wrote this a while ago during the first season of True Detective.  I feel it is relevant still)

 

“What’s it say about life?  You got to get together, tell yourself stories that violate every law of the universe, just to get through the god damn day, what’s that say about your reality?” Chole, from HBO’s True Detective

HBO's "True Detective" Season 1 / Director: Cary FukunagaTrue Detective is becoming one of my new favorite shows.  I’m truly fascinated by Mathew McConaughey’s character Chole. 

I am captivated by the above quote.  When I was a child, I remember being dragged to church by my mother on many occasions.  I remember sitting in the pew and silently observing everyone around me.  That quote resonates deeply within me because those were some of the feelings I had at an early age, but was never quite able to express those feelings to anyone.

I think I was an atheist at an early age, but didn’t quite realize it then.  For years I battled with believing and not believing. 

I read the Bible quite a bit when I was younger and with each passage I read, the less I believed.  For me, the Bible provided enough information for me to not believe in God.

I’m content to be an atheist and I don’t condemn anyone for having differing beliefs than I have.  I do wish that more people could discuss religion with restraint and without fanaticism.  But sadly, too many people let their emotions cloud their ability to think and act rationally. 

I understand that what I believe or don’t believe could end up being totally incorrect and I’m good with that. 

Just like all those people who used to think the world was flat.  They fervently believed that for years and look how that ended up.  I will be a bit concerned thought if we do in fact live within the Matrix, that would be odd. 

But what does it say about your reality if your reality is defined by blindly following others who abide by a book of collected stories thousands of years old.  What does that say about your reality???? 

I think what it says scares me to death about where our society is heading.

One thought on “Your Reality

  1. Seems to me most religious people I know would get upset with your statement, that God doesn’t exist. I’ve always found that to be rather odd. Just because you don’t believe in something doesn’t make it not exist, I mean, there’s primitive tribes of people living in the jungles of Papua New Guinea who don’t believe in electricity, that doesn’t mean you can’t turn your light on. So why do they get so upset? And he other thing (as a believer myself) that really flicks my bean is how these people somehow feel the need to “help you see the truth” or “defend the faith” as if you’re attacking some wheelchair bound homeless person! I used to identify as a Christian but so many of them profess values that are diametrically opposed to Jesus’ teachings that you really have to wonder what they mean by “God”…it’s certainly not the author of grace and compassion that I worship. Those people don’t like me either.

Leave a Reply

