updating the religious owner’s manual

bibleOne of my first cars was a 1988 Toyota Camry.  Although it was a boring car, it was like a Mercedes to me.  It was used, but still had the owner’s manual in the glove box.  For that time in my life, it was a good car and helped me get wherever I needed to go.

What if I compared the Bible to the owner’s manual in my old Camry?

The Bible is thousands of years old and for millions of people it is the owner’s manual of their life.  They do their best to follow its every word and attempt to be the best Christian possible.  After all, the Bible is the word of God and the only true word.

My 1988 Camry owner’s manual doesn’t do me much good if I try to use it to help me with a 2014 Camry.  The car has gone through numerous changes throughout the years and the 2014 model barely resembles the 1988 one.

Sounds similar to the way humans have evolved and changed from 2000 years ago to current times. 

But sadly, millions of people attempt to use an outdated document as the owner’s manual for their life.

No wonder this country has so many problems.  The owner’s manual is obsolete.

Such a simple concept that so many people can’t seem to grasp.

2 thoughts on “updating the religious owner’s manual

  1. That’s real problem right there, the Bible isn’t a manual, it’s a biography. It’s less about what & how and more about who. It’s not a map, it’s a guide. There’s precious little that can be taken literally, most of it represents a transcript of spoken art. Religions breed laziness because people can’t bothered to figure it out, they’d rather someone (or something) tell them what to think and how to act. Cretins abound

Leave a Reply

