the tragic misstep in human evolution (true detective)

“I think human consciousness, is a tragic misstep in evolution.  We became too self-aware, nature created an aspect of nature separate from itself, we are creatures that should not exist by natural law.  We are things that labor under the illusion of having a self; an accretion of sensory, experience and felling, programmed with total assurance that we are somebody, when in fact everybody is nobody.  Maybe the honorable thing for our species to do is deny our programming, stop reproducing, walk hand in hand into extinction, one last midnight, brothers and sisters opting out of a raw deal.” Rust Cohle from True Detective

true-detective-poster-crop-1This was from an earlier episode of True Detective.  And yes, I am addicted to this show.  Some people need their crack, meth or coffee………. I need True Detective.

For me, the above quote is fascinating, is illuminating.  What an interesting way to perceive human consciousness.  Although probably uncomfortable for most to entertain that quote, it holds an incredibly unique thought process. 

Read it again.  Now think about that quote in relation to the current human condition.  It’s difficult not to connect that stream of thought with how many people view themselves on this planet.

We are so “programmed” to behave the way we do. Just walk outside and look around, it’s an absolute fact.

I’ve never had difficulty understand that while I am a human, I am truly am an animal.  An animal in every sense of the word.  I eat, I breed and I live.  I separate myself from other animals by activating my inflated sense of intelligence and emotion.

When you think about it, aren’t intelligence and emotion the main concepts that separate us from a dog or a worm????

Something to think about.

 

2 thoughts on “the tragic misstep in human evolution (true detective)

    • Yes, many animals are. It’s definitely something to think about. I think people forget that humans are also animals. I think we have an inflated view of ourselves as intelligently evolved beings. Essentially, we do the same thing over and over and over without much real change. We eat, we sleep, we breed, we create, we destroy, etc. I wonder what the next step in evolution will be. I would like to think it’s something like the Tool song 46 and 2, but that doesn’t seem likely. I think the next evolutionary step will come after we have destroyed ourselves and destroyed our planet. A bit grim, but very likely. The sun will one day die.

Leave a Reply

