just keep smoking……

ChantixPrescription pill commercials crack me up.  I recently saw a Chantix commercial and immediately fell in love with its side effects.

I actually feel sympathy for smokers:

If you, your family, or caregiver notice agitation, hostility, depression, or changes in behavior, thinking, or mood that are not typical for you, or you develop suicidal thoughts or actions, anxiety, panic, aggression, anger, mania, abnormal sensations, hallucinations, paranoia, or confusion, stop taking CHANTIX and call your doctor right away.

Some people can have serious skin reactions while taking CHANTIX, some of which can become life-threatening. These can include rash, swelling, redness, and peeling of the skin.

Hmmmmm.  Smoke a cigarette or take a pill that could make your skin peel?

You might as well just keep smoking.

Wow, big Pharma really is adept at wrapping its tentacles around America’s throat and will never let go.

11 thoughts on “just keep smoking……

  1. I take a cancer drug for my rheumatoid arthritis–very popular for those with RA–methotrexate. Funny thing…it can cause cancer, too. And rheumatoid nodules caused by RA? Methotrexate can both rid you of them or make new ones! How about that? Oh, and all the meds for RA, a disease that weakens your immune system, further weaken your immune system while trying to stop the progression of RA. The advice on the prescription bottles/injection pens? “Stay away from sick people.” Really covering their bases, aren’t they?

    • It’s amazing. It’s like they are trying to prepare themselves for every possible lawsuit if something happens to someone taking the “medicine”. Thanks for reading and commenting, I appreciate it.

    • First, I agree that Obama doesn’t really have anything to do with this post, but since you brought it up…without Obamacare I wouldn’t be on these meds which, however many side effects they carry, have given me back my body. Almost 2 decades of debilitating chronic pain is being alleviated, which improves every aspect of my life and, indirectly, your life. Preventive healthcare, in the long run, means lowers costs for everyone. When my divorce was finalized, I lost the gold standard health insurance I had through my then husband. Assisted healthcare…I was grateful for it, but it lacked the services I needed most, so no RA meds and no therapy for over a year. Not good. ACA’s not a perfect system, but it’s a start.

      The “assholes” remark is unnecessary, too. Along with Western medicine, I’ve researched and use holistic treatments (and live a vegan lifestyle) to supplement and further aid healing my body. As bad as I felt last year without good insurance, those holistic measures halved the pain I had before I went on the meds the first time. That’s nothing to sneeze at. And I don’t, sneeze that is, ’cause I don’t get colds due to–get this–foods I eat and stress-reduction activities. It sounds like you could use a little meditation (simple with amazing benefits–free, too) to lessen the stress in your life that propels you to name call and throw in a “Obama’s killing America” at every turn.

      • It’s very strange that Obama was even mentioned regarding my post. I purposely wanted to keep politics out of it. It is difficult because Big Pharma has everything to do with politics and they are complicit with poisoning people in the pursuit of huge profits. It’s sad because there are plenty of people who legitimately need prescription medicine to help them. There are just so many doctors, addicts and companies who abuse the system for the sole purpose of profit. The name calling does get old though. I continue to hope that people realize that 99.99% of politicians are only concerned with their own agendas and don’t really care about regular people.

      • Agreed. Healthcare shouldn’t be about profit. It didn’t used to be. Ah, the good old days…;) That’s why people have to vote those fuckers out of Congress.

  2. agitation, hostility, depression, or changes in behavior, thinking, or mood that are not typical for you, or you develop suicidal thoughts or actions, anxiety, panic, aggression, anger, mania, abnormal sensations, hallucinations, paranoia, or confusion,<—— All the things that happen when you ACTUALLY try to stop smoking….hahaha! Side effects, my ass. That should be labeled as " yes, smoking may or may not kill you, but stopping will bring on all of the above. Regardless of how you do it." Been there, done that. Didn't kill anyone. Bonus.

Leave a Reply

