Defending Your Beliefs

UnknownI saw this at the grocery store the other day and yes, it made me think.  I know I should just ignore the Duck family, but I just can’t.  The way people react to them is amazing to me.

I absolutely support the right for every American to believe in whatever they want.  I think that’s one beautiful aspect of being an American.

“You’ve gotta respect everyone’s beliefs.” No, you don’t. That’s what gets us in trouble. Look, you have to acknowledge everyone’s beliefs, and then you have to reserve the right to go: “That is fucking stupid. Are you kidding me?” I acknowledge that you believe that, that’s great, but I’m not going to respect it. I have an uncle that believes he saw Sasquatch. We do not believe him, nor do we respect him!” Patton Oswalt

But with that freedom also comes the freedom for people to comment on others beliefs.If you hold a belief that is controversial in any way, you should be prepared for others to comment about your belief.

Especially if you are a public figure capitalizing on your image and your beliefs.

Especially if you hold a belief that is rooted in the Old Testament of the Bible.

With the constant pressure of political correctness, we often lose sight of what is real and what is fantasy due to a fear of offending others.

I’m beginning to agree somewhat with Patton Oswalt’s quote above.  What happens when a person’s beliefs are absolutely asinine or wholly unbelievable?

I think it’s a valid decision to not respect someone based on their beliefs.  I don’t respect someone who uses a Bible to justify their bigotry towards women or homosexuals.  I don’t respect people who are openly racist.  I could go on and on.

 When people speak of defending the Duck family and their redneck lifestyle, they often speak of God, of the Bible, of this country being founded on the basis of God.  They often speak of how our society needs more God instead of less God in our schools, in our towns, inside our homes.

These same people often quote verses from an ancient book without any regard for intellectual evolution or progression.  For these people, the Bible is the only true word and only true vehicle by which to lead their lives.

This makes me angry, this makes me sad.  This country was founded under the ideal of “freedom of religion.”  There are plenty of reasons why the framers of the Constitution did not include the word “God” in it.

When your beliefs are influenced and supported by a fantastical, archaic manuscript, be prepared for your beliefs to be openly mocked in the new public square.  I can only hope that Americans begin to evolve more intellectually so that true progression can be made for the benefit of our future.

At the present rate, the lowest common denominator has sunk its teeth into our society and shows no inclination of ever releasing its venomous bite.

6 thoughts on “Defending Your Beliefs

  1. It’s hard, man, I’m a believer in said manuscript but it’s not like you can take it literally, it’s mostly art for fucks sake! Which doesn’t mean it doesn’t contain truth, it just means it was never meant to be used by morons to back their personal prejudices…and you can’t have a decent intellectual discussion with these doodle heads either, not sure what the answer is mate.

    • I feel you man. I wish people could speak intelligently to each other about it all, then I wouldn’t be writing a post like this. Makes me sad. Imagine if we treated science, technology, medicine like some people treat the bible. We would never progress.

      • I hate to say it, but in some ways we already have turned those other things into religions, try having a sensible, intellectual discussion questioning the fossil record’s accuracy due to a few “professional scientists” who made some shit up along the way. Blind belief in anything is just that, blind.

  2. It’s hard, man, I’m a believer in said manuscript but it’s not like you can take it literally, it’s mostly art for fucks sake! Which doesn’t mean it doesn’t contain truth, it just means it was never meant to be used by morons to back their personal prejudices…and you can’t have a decent intellectual discussion with these doodle heads either, not sure what the answer is mate.

Leave a Reply

