Butt Implants & Instagram

lilwaynenickiminajThe other day my 13 year-old daughter was showing me pictures on her Instagram of a girl who posted several before and after pictures of her new butt implants.

She is 14 years old.  Let me repeat that…………… a 14 year-old with butt implants.  Supposedly.

Now, at face value, I didn’t and don’t believe it.

Having three daughters, I can’t even fathom the thought of a parent giving permission for a 14 year-old to have any kind of cosmetic surgery.  I did a quick search online and I don’t even think it’s legal to have it done at that age.  I didn’t care to spend too much time researching, because I really don’t care.

But all that is beside the point.

A girl this age posting pictures of her fake butt implants on Instagram is such a sad commentary on today’s society.  Social media provides an avenue for people to satiate their constant need for attention, and that is not a good thing.

We are all guilty of it, myself included.  After all, I’m writing this blog in the hopes of people reading and commenting on it.

This young girl is so empty, so soulless, so misguided that she feels the need to gain attention by pretending to have butt implants.

Damn how this world has changed.  When I was 14, I couldn’t wait for the Sports Illustrated swimsuit issue to arrive in the mail so I could quench my hormones.  Then when I was done, I would go outside and play a sport or go fishing.

My wife and I deal with social media and our children every day.  We monitor our children on a daily basis, we monitor who they are friends with, we monitor every post and picture they put online.

I’m saddened, but not shocked when I see some of the things other young children put online for the whole world to see.  I fully blame the parents.  I especially blame the parents because it is so easy to monitor.  It’s so easy to be parent when it comes to social media and their children.

But often times, when I look at the social media posts of these kids parents, it all makes sense.  The parents are no better.  It’s sad, but being a dirty whore or the guy ogling the whore has become the norm these days.

I really shouldn’t be surprised.  Kids are growing up trying to emulate Kim Kardashian, Justin Beiber, Nikki Minaj and Lil’Wayne.  What should I expect them to do?

I’m no prude, but their is a certain level of self respect that is absent from our society today.  With each selfie posted online, we continue to devalue our worth as people.

It saddens me that a 14 year-old girl needed attention so badly, needed someone to “like” her picture so badly, needed the high of updating her Instagram account so badly that she posted a picture of her ass with fake implants.

Holy shit, China wins again.

Leave a Reply

