The Selfie Generation

selfieI feel lucky to have been a teenager in the 90’s when social media was actually having to converse face to face with people.  I have teen-aged daughters and I’m watching this FacebookInstaChatSnapGram live from the front row.

And I have to say I feel sympathy for them.  My wife and I do an excellent job of monitoring their social media and we remain steadfast in being proactive with their lives.  But damn, this shit is amazing.

I can only imagine how my life would have been different if I had today’s technology while I was in high school:

*Every time I drank a beer, smoked some weed or said something shitty about someone, it would be right out on front street. 

*It was so much easier to be able to just talk behind peoples’ backs without fear of being recorded. 

*It was so much easier to pass out drunk without having to worry about becoming the next Vine video of a drunk asshole with dicks drawn on his cheeks in permanent marker. 

*It was so much easier to egg someone’s house and root their yard up without fear of it being taped by Verizon home security cameras. 

*It was so much easier to tell my parents I was going to my friend Tom’s house even though I was meeting a girl for sex and not have to worry about an app on my cell phone telling them exactly where I was. 

*It was so much easier to apply for a job and not worry that the prospective employer already knew everything about me that I was trying to hide.

I think what saddens me the most is that as we become more technologically advanced we seem to become lazier, less intelligent and desensitized to everything that damages us.

Maybe I will post that last thought on Facebook and see how many “likes” I can get.

2 thoughts on “The Selfie Generation

  1. A timely post Bix. I’ve got three daughters myself and the internet has been a benefit and curse. Social Media is interesting, for example, my youngest has easily 500 friends on Facebook, likely more. How many does she care about – perhaps two. I’m impressed she’s managing the fiction and the reality well. Then, I know at least one of my daughters has at least two Facebook accounts, one for ‘home’ and one for ‘office’… She’s adult, or so she claims… Well, there’s only so much coverage parental oversight provides. We hope we taught them well.

    Kind regards,

    • Thanks and I’m glad you enjoyed it. Watching it all unfold and how they handle it has been quite interesting. Thanks for reading and commenting, I do appreciate it.

Leave a Reply

