The Power of Color

It’s amazing how skin color can make people throw their belief systems into the garbage and totally forget what they stand for.

Homosexual Marriage: Unless you live under a rock, you probably heard that President Obama publically stated that he supports the right for homosexuals to marry.

Well done Pres, that’s common fucking sense and I didn’t realize that he’s the first President to actually support this out loud.  Damn, I guess I let my faith in mankind slip quite a bit there.

This really didn’t seem like a big deal to me until I watched an interview with pastor Dr. Kenneth Samuel regarding his support of Obama.

Samuel is the senior pastor of Victory for the World Church and sees Obama’s endorsement of gay marriage as the right thing for the country.

He called his church’s backing of the president “righteous” even if it means losing revenue and members after community television station WATC dropped the church’s weekly broadcast.

HOLD THE FUCKING PHONE- do you mean to tell me that the leader of a major black church in the United States is backing the President’s position on gay marriage?????

How can that be?  How is this even possible?

I’m no biblical scholar, but I’m pretty sure that homosexuality is not exactly “allowed” by God:

Biblical Silliness & Homosexuality is an illicit lust forbidden by God.

He said to His people Israel, “Thou shalt not lie with mankind, as with womankind: it is abomination” (Leviticus 18:22).

“If a man also lie with mankind, as he lieth with a woman, both of them have committed an abomination: they shall surely be put to death; their blood shall be upon them” (Leviticus 20:13).

OOOOOOPS, Dr. Samuel has seriously fucked up here.  While I totally agree that homosexuals should be allowed to marry as the President said, I don’t understand how a devout “man of God” can turn his back on the very God he believes in.  But that’s exactly what he’s done here.

I’m not jumping out of some intellectual closet here by suggesting that the main reason certain people support Obama is because of his skin color.

Political Correctness: It’s funny to me that most people choose to view his color as black even though he is actually a mulato (half white/half black.)  Please excuse me if this is racially insensitive to my readers.

I’m not exactly sure what the politically correct term is to describe a person of mixed heritage and I found it on Wikepedia and the Miriam Webster online dictionary.  But then again, I don’t get upset when someone calls me a “pale face” or a “cracker,” and I am rarely politically correct.

Hypocrisy: I am shocked (sarcasm) that a man of God, who teaches the word of God to thousands of people will turn his back on his God in order to follow someone because of color.

So which parts of the Bible matter then?  Does this mean that you followers can pick and choose which parts of the Bible to believe in and to emulate?

I think that has already been answered.  Just walk into any Southern Baptist church and watch the sin of Gluttony rear its ugly head in every single pew.  I guess that sin is alright to partake in.

The Power of Color:  It’s is incredible how powerful someone’s skin color can be in our society and how it can shape someone’s life decisions.

I long for the day when people will just identify each other as people and nothing more or less.  Our skin color should be of no significance whatsoever, but sadly, DUH’America can figure out how not to hate.  And DUH’America has serious difficulty understanding the concept of HYPOCRISY.

4 thoughts on “The Power of Color

  1. I believe that the pastor did the right thing. There is a growing number of people called the Christian Left (I’m one of those) and quite simply we believe that God loves everyone. Period. Even sarcastic, funny as hell, Atheists 🙂

    Did you see the video this week of the crazy bastard in NC who preached from his pulpit that all gays should be rounded up and fenced up behind electric fences? That’s a real Christian for ya! No wonder non-believers keep non-believing!

    I too long for the day where we judge each other by our character and not the color of their skin. We didn’t see it when Dr. King was still alive, and sadly Sandy, I don’t think we’ll see it in our lifetime. I’m not even living in the States, don’t have news on TV and even from my limited exposure to the media I can feel how ugly politics has become in the US. It makes me sad and sick… The racist horns have certainly reared their horns 😦

    ~Sandi

    • I totally respect you and your opinions, but I have to disagree a bit about God. If one is to believe in the bible, it’s painfully obvious that God didn’t love everyone and allowed people to suffer all the time. God, by his own bible, was a vicious God.

      I didn’t see the video of the NC crazy preacher. I’ve been to NC many times, there are some crazy ass religious people there. I always thought it was odd how so many religious people hate black people and gays, interesting. I guess “love thy neighbor” is loosely interpreted.

      I agree with you, I don’t think we will see an end to racism in our time. People are just too stupid, stubborn and poorly educated to understand that we are all people who evolved from the same organisms. Or, created by a dude in the sky who pointed his finger and created white people 🙂

      • NC has some of the worst racists in the country. Lived there for 19 months back in the late 80’s. Worked for the Red Cross and we traveled all over and did blood drives. We always stopped in diners and once it was me and 3 black nurses. 545 am, no one in the restaurant but us and the owner. He completely ignored us, somewhen I asked if he could get us some coffee he said he didn’t serve niggers… I was stunned… Actually laughed because I thought I heard him wrong… I said, “I’m sorry, what did you say.” and he repeated it… The ladies went out to the van… I wasnt so well-behaved, probably lucky I did t get shot!
        I moved back to south Florida a month later.
        In regard to the rest… There are a lot of Christians who arent Christ like… Easy to spot, they fly the Dixie flag in the back of their Ford F150’s 🙂

  2. Pingback: The wrong-headed argument – hoping for fanaticism from the godly | roopost

Leave a Reply

