My Old College Doesn’t Like Gay People

50+ Professors & Staff Resign From Christian University After Refusing to Sign Homosexuality Pledge

This truly makes me sad.  The college I graduated from in Rome, GA is in the news for some very backwards beliefs.

Yes, it’s a private college, I guess they call it university these days, but come on Shorter University wake up and smell the year, it’s 2012.

I graduated in 1999 and I remember back then several of the professors complained about having to sign a similar form like the one mentioned in the article above.  Many good professors left because they had to sign a piece of paper that said they would never drink alcohol.

Funny personal note; I took a final exam with my class and professor at the local Applebees bar one semester.  Yep, he left after that year to teach at another college where he was allowed to have a beer or drink wine at dinner.

By the way, I only went there because I received a full baseball scholarship and wanted a degree.  I didn’t give a shit that it was a Baptist school.

On a related note of hypocrisy, the music and theater department at Shorter was one of the most well known in the country.

But yeah, probably no way that music/theater students or their professors were gay.  No chance at all.

If you read the article, many of the comments below it are downright deplorable.

Fortunately for me, I’ve never donated a dime back to my college because it was generally run by bigots and obese, Southern Baptists.  What a sad institution to teach and encourage hate.

 

4 thoughts on “My Old College Doesn’t Like Gay People

  1. I have to say that every time I go back there and speak to some of our “allies”, the Vent always comes up. I won’t mention names, but apparently we had a significant fan base among faculty and staff as well as students. 😉

    • Those were the good ole days. The Vent was fun and I’m glad to know that people enjoyed it. Sounds like maybe some of the current students should resurrect it.

  2. I felt a way when I read that story too. It begs the question, what the hell is going on in this country? All of this talk about how we’re losing our way as a nation or how our values are eroding. News Flash: we’ve never really been a moral nation!!! Sure, there are some people that do represent decency in our country but we also have our wackos. Seems like those voices are louder than the sane ones though.

    I have absolutely no problem with people being able to do what they want to do. What another man or woman does with their life doesn’t impact mine at the slightest. Allowing a person to marry someone of the same sex doesn’t change the significance or sanctity of my marriage at all. If someone doesn’t approve of another’s lifestyle that’s a personal problem. If a person gets all bent out of shape about those things then maybe their own faith should be questioned.

    It’s a sad state of affairs. Some people would rather this “free” nation become a theocracy rather than the republic that we are. Hell, I don’t feel like our entire population is fully represented by the individual’s who are elected to govern. It is totally disproportioned but that’s an argument for another day. People don’t realize but we are a very, very young nation. We still have a lot of growing up to do….

Leave a Reply

