Brilliance in Journalism

I was working in Miami the other day and while getting dressed in my hotel, I turned on the Today Show.

I know, I should have spanked myself heartily and immediately gone to the library, but I truly wanted to see a train wreck and some blood and guts.

Thankfully, the Today Show delivered with its normal lack of journalistic integrity.  The lead stories were about a 39 pound cat and Rosie O’Donnell.

Notice, I didn’t say that Rosie tried to eat the cat, (how punnirific, and yes I just coined that word) just that they were both lead stories.

So the obese cat segment was truly riveting.  Today Show anchor Ann Curry, asked the woman holding the cat a very pointed question: I’m paraphrasing here, “So how in the world does a cat get that big.”

Wow, heads up Pulitzer Prize committee, I think we have a finalist.  The woman answered that the cat was fed too much and fed unhealthy food.

Hey America, don’t be shocked when China and their Rickshaw Express takes over.  While Americans are morbidly fascinated with an obese cat, the Chinese would deep-fry the same cat and feed half their population.

HOLY, FUCKING, SHIT.

Sadly, I pictured the cat as an accurate symbol of the average American and Ann Curry as just another grossly overpaid media figure who placates her bosses so that she can drive multiple Mercedes.

That’s all for now.

4 thoughts on “Brilliance in Journalism

  1. And this is why I left journalism … When I realized that “making it” basically meant spoon feeding your audience fluff pieces and that the only way to make a living at it is to treat your profession like show business, that was the end of my career in “news.”

  2. @otheralaska: thanks, I felt it was clever on a couple of levels, but that doesn’t usually mean anything. thanks for reading and commenting, I appreciate it

    @onlyspartan: thanks for reading and commenting. You pretty much explained the problems with America in that one sentence, thank you.

Leave a Reply

