Flush it all Away

“Something kinda sad about the way that things have come to be. Desensitized to everything.  What became of subtlety?” Stinkfist by Tool

It always cracks me up that a song about “fisting” is so widely played on the radio. HA

But seriously, when I turn on the television, listen to the news or read a newspaper it just seems like the same old shit.  Someone raped, someone robbed, some politician stealing money, some fuckstick suing someone for serving them hot coffee that burned them.

(this is the picture that came up when I searched the term “fuckstick” on Google images)

But the sad part is that I have become desensitized to all this nonsense.  None of this shit affects me anymore.  All the bullshit has become status quo.  When I hear a story about some guy raping a 12 year-old while making the mother watch, I think to myself, “yep, sounds normal to me.”  Just another day in America.

When I hear that the ab guy from Jersey Shore made around $5 Million last year, I think to myself, “yep, sounds normal to me.”  Then I think, holy shit, people actually watch that shit, repeatedly.

One day, China is going to win, without having to do much.  We will be eating noodles, fried puppy nuggets and dim sum without ever realizing what happened.  Because we are becoming desensitized to everything, everything.  What concerns me is that I think it’s too late for people to wake up.  People really don’t care.  Read a book once in a while, watch the History Channel, put your cell phone down and write someone a letter.

Never mind, that’s too hard.  Just keep melting your brains, keep following the herd, keep trying to fit in, keep trying to get a bigger suburban, keep looking for that Rolex with the most gold.  Your souls are overrated.

“The only way to fix it is to flush it all away. Any fucking time, any fucking day.  Learn to swim, I’ll see you down in Arizona Bay.” Aenima by Tool

Leave a Reply

